Holy Family Primary School Bell Park

  • DSC_0645_54502
  • DSC_0771_54608
  • DSC_0796_54633

About Us

The Holy Family is our inspiration as we strive to live out Catholic gospel values and promote a diverse and challenging curriculum which prepares and empowers students for an ever changing world.

Holy Family School is situated in Bell Park, one of the most multiculturally rich suburbs of Geelong. Holy Family is fortunate to have a strong history of a large culturally diverse community, where all people are valued.

The parish of Holy Family opened initially in 1953 and Holy Family Primary school opened in 1955 with 180 P-4 students. The school was the parish centre – a school during the week and a centre for Mass and community events at the weekend. Holy Family School has a long history of association with the Sisters of Mercy. In 2000 the Mercy Order handed over the administration to a lay principal.

Holy Family strives to provide an environment that is safe, flexible and inclusive and which fosters collaboration and creativity. The student wellbeing program which utilises aspects of “Making Jesus Real”, Restorative Practices and Circle Time is aimed at engendering a climate of mutual respect, trust and responsibility where students develop a sense of belonging and attachment to school. Students are provided with opportunities for engagement in many active and passive leisure activities.

In recent years the main school building has been refurbished. A learning centre comprising a library, four learning areas and a theatre room was built with funding from the BER capital grant. The front entry to the school was rebuilt and the three north eastern classrooms were extended and transformed into a flexible learning space. There has also been a beautification program involving landscaping, fencing and tree planting to the school grounds with major funding from the Parents and Friends’ Association.

The 2017 student enrolment of Holy Family School covers more than 28 nationalities. The students are grouped across four learning areas including Prep Learning Area (Foundation), Junior Learning Area (Years 1/2) , Middle Learning Area (Years 3/4) and Senior Learning Area (Years 5/6).